Studying in UK

The United Kingdom is made up of England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. Britain has a long cultural history, a complete education system and a high degree of acceptance. It is one of the most popular countries for studying. The academic level of its universities is well-known. Among the top 10 universities in the world, the United Kingdom occupies 4 of them (QS 2021 World University Rankings).

Official name: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

Population: 65 million

Capital: London

Government system: constitutional monarchy, parliamentary democracy

Common currency: British Pound (£, GBP)

Official language: English

The Weather in UK

Britain has a mild climate with sunny weather all year round.

Spring March-May

Spring is usually sunny, with occasional cold waves and rainfall, and the temperature is around 6-11 degrees. The weather in May is mild and the highest temperature during the day can reach around 18 degrees.

 

Summer June-August

In summer, the temperature is high during the day and becomes cooler at night. The temperature is about 14-30 degrees, and the highest temperature can reach 35 degrees.

Autumn September-November

The weather is mild in autumn, with occasional cold waves, and the temperature is around 7-18 degrees. September is warmer, and the temperature may drop sharply in November.

Winter December-March

Winter has the shortest day (approximately 7-8 hours) and the lowest temperature in the UK, with temperatures around 1-5 degrees. The day is sunny and the weather is dry and cold.

Time Difference in UK
Daylight saving time (March-October)

The British summer time system starts at 00:00 on the last Sunday in March, and the clock is set one hour forward to 01:00; it ends at 01:00 on the last Sunday in October and the clock is set back to 00:00. The time difference with Hong Kong is 7 hours.

 

Winter time system (June-August)

During winter time, the United Kingdom adopts Universal Time. The time difference with Hong Kong is 8 hours.

​Education System

Primary and secondary school

The UK’s education system has a long history, with high-quality, diversified courses, strict school spirit and outstanding academic performance. British boarding schools are even more famous internationally. Therefore, the UK has always been a popular place for Hong Kong students to study abroad. According to the Independent Schools Council (ISC) 2019 statistical report, there are currently more than 5,000 Hong Kong students studying in British boarding schools. On average, more than 1,500 Hong Kong students go to boarding schools in the UK each year. Most colleges and universities in the UK start classes in September, with a total of three semesters each year. Schools generally recommend that students who are going to the UK start applying nine to twelve months before the start of classes.

Primary and secondary education in the UK is generally divided into three stages: six-year primary school (year 1 to 6), five-year secondary school (year 7 to 11), and a two-year preparatory system (year 12 to 13). After finishing Year 11, students must take the General Certificate of Secondary Education (GCSE). It is equivalent to the old Hong Kong Certificate of Education Examination (HKCEE). After passing the GCSE, students can progress to the college entrance examination preparatory course (A-Level) from Year 12 to Year 13. Upon completion of the course, students must register for the A-Level exam. The university admissions must be based on the student's test scores.

England, Wales and Northern Ireland have the same education system, while Scotland has another system. Six-year elementary school (Year 1 to Year 6), 6-year secondary school (Year 7 to Year 12), and Year 11 and 12 to participate in the two-year Scottish Certificate of Education (SCE) examination, a Scottish university is a four-year system.

Preparatory Courses

International Year 1

International Year 1 (International Year 1) is similar to the first year of university. The courses are only for international students, suitable for Form 6 students. The study period is one year. This course can also be regarded as a conditional admission to a British university. Students who meet the specified requirements can be promoted to the second year of the original school, that is, they will receive a British university degree after two years of study. However, there are not many schools offering courses and relatively few course choices. The main courses are business, and some of them offer psychology, international relations, engineering, etc. In addition to studying university subject content, students also need to study English and studying skills. The advantage is that its admission requirements are lower than those for direct admission to universities, and it is a good choice for many students to enter a famous university in the UK.

University Foundation Course (Foundation)

Most British universities offer foundation courses to assist students in connecting to the university. They are suitable for Form 5 and Form 6 students. The study period is 6-12 months. Form 5 students can apply with their Form 5 results. If the grades of Form 6 students do not meet the university's direct admission standards, or if they have not taken the elective subjects required by the university of their choice, they can choose to take this course to connect to the university. University basic courses are a popular choice for students. After students complete the courses and meet the specified requirements, they can go straight to the first year of university.

University courses

There are about 140 universities in the UK. Both overseas students and local students in the UK must use the Universities and Colleges Admissions Service (UCAS) to apply for UK bachelor's degree programs. Through UCAS, Hong Kong students can directly use the Hong Kong Diploma of Secondary Education (HKDSE) results without having to take additional qualifications such as A-Levels to apply for UK universities. They can choose up to 5 voluntary degrees at a cost of 25 pounds. UCAS will assist students in submitting and following up their applications, and will also provide suggestions for school selection. The general bachelor's degree program lasts for three years, and the master's degree program lasts for one to one and a half years.

​University Rankings
The following is the 2020 The Times The Sunday Times Good University Guide. The ranking is based on the comprehensive university rankings and professional department rankings based on teaching level, student satisfaction, admission level, student employment rate, academic research level and other indicators. There are 128 universities in total. When choosing a school, in addition to referring to the school rankings, it is also recommended that students and parents choose schools and subjects according to their own interests.
Click here to view the rankings.
​Fees
​Tuition
Boarding High School: £8,000-£13,000 / semester (3 semesters in total)
University basic courses: £10,000-£17,000 / year
University diploma courses: £10,000-£17,000 / year
Bachelor degree: £10,000-£20,000 / year
Master's program: £10,000-£20,000 / year
​The cost of living in the UK
(According to the guidelines of the British Consulate)
London and surrounding areas: £11,385 / year
Outside of London: £9,135 / year
​Visa
Overseas student medical

Starting from March 2019, all applicants need to pay a medical surcharge of £300/year, and an increase to £470/year from October 2020 to enjoy the National Health Services (NHS ) of the United Kingdom. After arriving in the UK, students should register at the health centre near the school as soon as possible. Please bring your student’s identity certificate when registering. After successfully registering, students will be issued an NHS medical card; each time you use medical services, you need to show this card to enjoy NHS protection.

student visa
  • Students (BNO/HKSAR passport holders) are required to apply for a student visa for a six-month course.

  • All applicants must complete the online application process and make an online appointment.

  • Starting from December 31, 2013, all applicants from China, Hong Kong and Macau (long-term/6 months or more) are required to pass a tuberculosis test at a designated medical institution.

  • Starting from March 2019, all applicants will be required to pay a medical surcharge of £300/year, and the cost will be £470/year from October 2020.

  • Applicants must bring the required documents (original and copy), and go to the visa center to submit the application in person.

  • Generally, the consulate will make a visa decision within 15 working days after submitting the application. (Except during peak hours)

  • If the applicant chooses the priority processing visa service (additional HK$2,294), the visa decision can be made within 3-5 working days.

Guardian Service

According to British law, all British boarding schools require students to have legal guardians to take care of them during their stay in the UK. A student who has a relative or friend who holds a British passport, is 25 years of age or older, and has a fixed address in the UK is eligible to become a guardian. The Guardian Company is to provide guardian services to students who do not have a qualified guardian to ensure that they are taken care of during the English term.

Main service scope
  • Arrange for students’ holiday off-campus accommodation and transportation for travelling to and from the host family

  • Handling school affairs on behalf of parents, such as paperwork, vaccination, whether to attend various activities invited to participate, and respond to transcripts, etc.

  • Maintain close contact with parents, students and the school throughout the year (including communication via telephone, WeChat, email, SMS, post, etc.)

  • 24-hour emergency assistance, such as schoolchildren who are slightly injured in an accident and need to be sent to the hospital for treatment by a guardian, etc.

​Accommodation Options

British colleges and universities provide international students with different types of accommodation. Students should choose accommodation based on the college, age, adaptability and budget. Several accommodation arrangements are as follows:

School dormitory

Living in a boarding school is a rare opportunity when studying in the UK. Students living and studying with people of the same age from all over the world not only broaden their own knowledge, but also increase their self-confidence, group awareness and social skills, and cultivate self-discipline and independence.

Host family

This type of accommodation is especially popular with students who come to the UK to learn languages. You live in a local British home, have your own room and dine with members of the family. This type of accommodation can be arranged flexibly according to your needs, but is usually regarded as a cultural exchange. Being fully integrated into the daily life of the British is usually the best way to improve language skills and understand British culture and traditional customs.

Share house

For three-year courses, student dormitories are often only guaranteed to provide accommodation for one to two years, usually for the first and/or third year. Therefore, apartments and shared houses are becoming increasingly popular. You can find information about rented apartments and houses in local newspapers, shop windows, and school accommodation offices. The best time to find this type of accommodation is before the end of the semester in June and July. If you find a place to live at this time, you still need to pay the rent during the summer vacation. But if you do not move in right away, some landlords will reduce the rent during this period. If you like independence and self-cooking, a shared apartment or house is a good choice.

3709 6101      9220 6058(Whatsapp)

​香港灣仔軒尼斯道164-166號亨寧大廈二樓全層

  • Facebook
  • YouTube

Bright Kids Plus Learning Centre 2020

英國升學指南

英國是由英格蘭(England),蘇格蘭(Scotland),威爾斯(Wales)及北愛爾蘭(Northern Ireland)組成。英國文化歷史悠久,教育制度完善及認受性高,是其中一個最熱門的升學國家之一。其大學的學術水平享負盛名,在全球排名首 10 位大學中,英國佔據其中 4 席(QS 2021 年世界大學排名榜)。

官方名稱:大不列顛及北愛爾蘭聯合王國

人口數目:6,500 萬

首都:倫敦

政府體制:君主立憲、議會民主制

通用貨幣:英鎊(£,GBP)

官方語言:英語

英國天氣

英國氣候溫和,一年四季均有晴朗天氣。

春天 3月 - 5月

春季通常陽光明媚,偶有寒潮及降雨,氣溫為 6 - 11 度左右。5 月天氣和暖,日間最高溫度可達 18 度左右。

 

夏天 6月 - 8月

夏季日間溫度偏高,入夜轉涼,氣溫為 14 - 30 度左右,最高溫度可達 35 度。

秋天 9月 - 11月

秋季天氣溫和,偶有寒潮,氣溫為 7 - 18 度左右。9 月較暖,至 11 月可能出現溫度驟降。

冬天 12月 - 3月

冬季為英國白晝最短( 約 7 - 8 小 時 )、氣溫最低的季節,氣溫為 1 - 5度左右。日間陽光媚、天氣乾冷。

英國時差
夏令時制(3月 - 10月)

英國夏令時制由 3 月最後一個週日 00:00 開始,時鐘撥快一小時至 01:00;於 10 月最後一個週日 01:00 結束,時鐘撥回 00:00。與香港時差為 7 小時。

 

冬令時制(6月 - 8月)

冬令時間,英國採用世界標準時間。與香港時差為 8 小時。

​教育制度

中小學

英國的教育制度歷史悠久,院校課程質素優良、多元化、校風嚴格加上成績卓越。英國的寄宿學校更是國際著名,因此,英國一向都是香港學生選擇留學的熱門好地方。根據 Independent Schools Council (ISC) 2019 年統計報告,現有超過 5,000 名香港學生在英國寄宿學校就讀。每年平均大約超過 1,500 香港學生前往英國就讀寄宿學校。英國大部份的院校均於九月開課,每年共三個學期。學校一般會建議準備赴英國的學生於開課前九至十二個月前開始申請。

英國的中小學教育一般分為三個階段:六年小學(第一至第六班)、五年中學(第七至第十一班)及兩年預科的制度(第十二班至第十三班)。完成第十一班,學生須參加英國中學會考 General Certificate of Secondary Education (GCSE)。相當於香港舊制的中學會考 (HKCEE)。考獲 GCSE 後,學生可升讀第十二班至第十三班的高考預科課程 (A-Level)。完成課程,學生須報考 A-Level 考試。而報考大學則須按學生的考試成績而定。

英格蘭、威爾斯和北愛爾蘭的教育制度相同,而蘇格蘭則有另一體制。六年小學(第一班至第六班),六年中學(第七班至第十二班),第十一、十二班參加兩年的蘇格蘭教育證書課程(SCE)考試,蘇格蘭大學為期四年制。

大學銜接課程

國際一年級 (International Year 1)

國際一年級 (International Year 1)與大學一年級相似,課程只供國際學生,適合中六學生,修讀期為一年。這課程亦可視為英國大學的有條件取錄,學生成績達指定要求,便可升讀原校二年級,即再修讀兩年便取得英國大學學位。但提供課程的學校不多,課程選擇亦相對較少,主要為商科,部份有開設心理學、國際關係學、工程學等。學生除了學習大學學科內容外,亦需額外修讀英文及學習技巧。好處是其收生要求較直入大學的低,和能銜接上大學的二年級,是不少學生升讀英國著名大學的好選擇。

大學基礎課程(Foundation)

大部份英國大學開設大學基礎課程 (Foundation) 協助學生銜接至大學,適合中五、中六學生,修讀期為 6 - 12 個月。中五同學可以中五成績申請。若果中六同學成績未達大學直入收生標準,或未有修讀心儀大學學科要求的選修科目,可以選擇修讀此課程來銜接至大學。大學基礎課程是學生的熱門選擇,學生完成課程並達到指定要求,便能直升大學一年級。

大學課程

全英大概有 140 所大學,不論海外學生或英國本地學生均須使用英國大學的聯招系統 Universities and Colleges Admissions Service(UCAS)來申請英國學士學位課程。香港學生可透過 UCAS,直接使用香港中學文憑成績(HKDSE)而不需要考取 A-Levels 等額外學歷來申請英國大學,選擇最多 5 個志願學位,費用為 25 英鎊。我們會協助學生遞交及跟進申請,亦會提供揀選學校的建議。一般學士學位課程為期三年,碩士學位課程為期一年至年半。

​大學排名
以下為 2020 年 The Times The Sunday Times Good University Guide,排名按照教學水平、學生滿意度、收生水平、學生就業率、學術研究水平等多項指標進行大學綜合排名及專業學系排名,共 128 所大學。選校時,除了參考學校名次外,亦建議學生和家長應按照學生自身興趣選擇學校及學科。
按此查看排名。
​費用
​學費
寄宿中學:£8,000 - £13,000 / 學期(共3學期)
大學基礎課程:£10,000 - £17,000 / 年
大學文憑課程:£10,000 - £17,000 / 年
大學課程:£10,000 - £20,000 / 年
碩士課程:£10,000 - £20,000 / 年
​英國留學生活費用
(根據英國領事館指引)
倫敦及周邊地區:£11,385 / 年
倫敦以外地區:£9,135 / 年
​簽證
海外學生醫療

由2019年3月起,所有申請人需要支付醫療附加費 £300/年,在2020年10月起加價為 £470/年,以享受英國國家保健服務(National Health Services, NHS)。學生在到達英國後,應盡早到學校附近的保健中心註冊。註冊時請攜帶學生身份證 明,成功註冊後,學生將會獲發一張 NHS 醫療卡;在每次使用醫療服務時,都需要出示此卡才可享有 NHS 的保障。

學生簽證
  • 學生(BNO / HKSAR護照持有者)凡入讀六個月的課程均需要申請學生簽證。

  • 所有申請人必須完成網上申請程序及進行網上預約。

  • 由 2013 年 12 月 31 日起,所有中國、香港和澳門(長期 / 6 個月或以上)的申請人需要在指定醫務所通過結核病測試。

  • 由2019年3月起,所有申請人需要支付醫療附加費 £300/年,在2020年10月起加價為 £470/年。

  • 申請人必須帶齊所需文件(正本及副本),親身前往簽證中心遞交申請。

  • 一般情況下,領事館會在遞交申請後 15 個工作天內作出簽證決定。(繁忙時間除外)

  • 若申請人選擇優先處理簽證服務(需另加港幣 $2,294),簽證可於 3 - 5 個工作天內作出決定。

​監護人服務

所有英國寄宿中學根據英國法律規定學生在英逗留期間必須有合法監護人照顧。如果學生有親友持有 英國護照、年滿 25 歲及在英國擁有固定住址即符合成為監護人。監護人公司就是為沒有合資格監護人的學生提供監護人服務,確保有英期間得到照顧。

主要服務範圍
  • 安排學生之假期校外住宿及往返寄宿家庭之車程

  • 代表家長處理學校事務,例如文書往來、注射防疫針、是否出席獲邀參加之各項活動、就成績表回應等

  • 與家長、學生及校方全年保持緊密聯繫(包括以電話、微信、電郵、短訊、郵遞等方式溝通)

  • 24 小時之緊急援助,例如學童因意外受輕傷,需要由監護人送院治療等

​住宿選擇

英國院校為留學生提供不同種類的住宿,學生要視乎入讀的院校、年齡、適應能力及預算選擇住宿。 幾種住宿安排如下:

學校宿舍

到英國留學,在寄宿學校生活是個很難得的機會。學生跟來自世界各地,年紀相若的人一起生活和學習, 除了能增廣自身的見聞外,更令學生增加自信、團體意識和社交能力,培養自律和獨立能力。

寄住家庭

此類型的住宿方式特別受到前來英國學習語言的學生的歡迎。你住在當地英國人的家裹,有自己的房間並和該家庭成員一起用餐。這類住宿可以按照你的需要來靈活安排,但是通常被視為一種文化交流。完全地融入英國人的日常生活通常是提升語言技能及瞭解英國文化和傳統習俗的最佳方式。

合租房屋

對於三年制的課程,學生宿舍往往只保證提供一到兩年的住宿,通常為第一年和/或第三年。因此公寓和合租房屋日益流行。你可以在當地報紙、商店櫥窗和學校的 住宿辦公室找到出租的公寓和房屋的資訊。尋找此類住宿的最好的時機是 6、7 月學期結束之前。如果你在這個時候找到了住處,你還需要支付暑假期間的房租。但 如果你不是馬上入住的話,有的房東會減少這段時間的房租。如果你喜歡獨立和自己做飯,合租公寓或房屋是很好的選擇。

3709 6101      9220 6058(Whatsapp)

​香港灣仔軒尼斯道164-166號亨寧大廈二樓全層

  • Facebook
  • YouTube

Bright Kids Plus Learning Centre 2020